Software & Tools

The dwh GmbH utilizes many different Tools, to satisfy the needs of our clients. We offer Solutions, tailored to the specific Problems of our customers. Thus we are not only using different simulation software solutions, but also develop our own specialized tools.

Very flexible software combining the three modelling concepts agent-based simulation, discrete event simulation and system-dynamics in one simulator. It is used by dwh GmbH for modelling airports, shopping centres or traffic flow, as they benefit from AnyLogic's capability for multi-method/hybrid modelling. Moreover Agent-based simulation capabilities are used for HTA (health technology assessment) and health economics. Examples for that are evaluation and simulation of AAA (abdominal aortic aneurism), colon cancer and modelling of pathways of mental patients.

http://www.anylogic.com/

The Building Controls Virtual Test Bed is a Ptolemy II based tool for loose coupling co-simulation. Simulators which can be coupled via the BCVTB are among others Dymola, EnergyPlus, MATLAB, Simulink, Simscape and Radiance. dwh GmbH has used BCVTB for the holistic simulation of production halls including thermal aspects, machinery and building systems.

https://simulationresearch.lbl.gov/bcvtb

Programming language used in dwh to develop Desktop Applications with complicated GUI.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/kx37x362.aspx

Structural processing and analysis of complex data: the programming language C++ with its low-level memory access presents an ideal basis for working with large data and large numbers of computations. In combination with advanced data structures and concepts such as graphs and R-trees from the Boost library, large datasets can be searched and depicted in a reasonable fashion.
Also in the area of image processing, high performance computing and low level hardware access C++ is used.

http://www.cplusplus.com/http://www.boost.org/

High performance GPU accelerated 3D Visualisation. Realtime simulation and visualisation of a pendulum model on the Raspberry Pi. Measurement input through USB (acceleration sensor) and control of electromagnet (release mechanism) through GPIO. Use of GNU Scientific Library for simultaneous solving of the nonlinear differential equation of the advanced pendulum model.

Formalism for the description of hybrid systems (discrete event/ continuous). In dwh GmbH, the MatlabDEVS-Toolbox developed by HS Wismar is used for DEV&DESS based simulation.

Tool for object oriented modelling and simulation of complex machine models, e.g. used for energy optimisation problems. The simulator Dymola is based on the modelling language Modelica.

https://modelica.org/http://www.3ds.com/products-services/catia/products/dymola

Development of software-tools for agent-based simulation of personnel traffic, used by dwh GmbH for planning hospitals or optimising room capacity in universities. dwh GmbH used JAVA to develop an agent-based framework for epidemic simulation. This framework has already been used several times to simulate various infectious diseases.

https://www.java.com/en/

Powerful mathematics tool focussed on algebraic computation. Hence it is used as a tool for modifying equations and algebraic structures, occurring during modelling processes.

http://www.maplesoft.com/products/Maple/

Graphical simulator for the modelling and simulation of multiphysical systems. MapleSim is based on the Modelica standard just like Dymola. Algebraic transformations and numerical algorithms are provided by a Maple core.

http://www.maplesoft.com/products/Maplesim/

Mainly used for rapid prototyping of simulation models and model concepts, respectively. MATLAB is suitable for almost any modelling method (differential equation models, difference equation models, agent-based simulations, cellular automata, discrete event models, etc.).

http://uk.mathworks.com/products/matlab/

Agent-based oriented simulator which is used for extremely quick prototyping of simple agent-based models or cellular automata.

https://ccl.northwestern.edu/netlogo/

Versatile programming language which has a very broad area of application at dwh GmbH. Highly suited for rapid prototyping of elaborate software projects, simulation models, graphical visualisation and data analysis. A large number of libraries is available for integration into software projects. Examples, affirming its flexibility, are visualisation and rendering of geographic information and maps, NLP (natural language processing), deep convolutional networks for image classification, physical multi-body simulation and statistical, dynamic analysis of network structures and sampling from multidimensional distributions. Furthermore Python and especially the SimPy and Mesa libraries are used for agent-based simulation in the health area for population and vaccination models.

https://www.python.org/

Application oriented MATLAB extensions which are, similar to their base programming language MATLAB, mainly used for research in dwh GmbH. The first two are capable for simulation of physical/mechanical/electrical models while the latter tool is used to simulate logistics problems.

http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simulink/http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simscape/http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simevents/

SQL is used for the setup of databases (like PostgreSql, Oracle) and the retrieval of data. Here data of different application areas (health, politics, etc) are managed and retrieved in appropriate aggeregated and linked manner. They then can be visualized and/or used for parametrization of simulation models.

Main tool for simulation of Markov models and decision trees for HTA and health economic problems. Mainly used for implementation of screening problems and scenario testing, e.g. for analysis of breast cancer screening.

https://www.treeage.com/

Software & Tools

Die dwh GmbH setzt bei Ihren Projekten eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Tools ein. Wir bieten Lösungen an, die konkret auf die Probleme unserer Kunden zugeschnitten sind. Es kommen dabei, je nach Anforderung, unter anderem hochspezialisierte Simulationslösungen aber auch selbst entwickelte, maßgeschneiderte Software zum Einsatz.

Sehr flexibel einsetzbare Software, die die drei Modellierungskonzepte Agentenbasierte Simulation, Discrete Event Simulation und System Dynamics in einem Simulator vereinigt. Die Simulationsumgebung wird z.B. in der Modellierung von Flughäfen, Einkaufszentren und Straßennetzwerken eingesetzt, da in diesen Bereichen der Einsatz der vom Simulator bereitgestellten Multi-Method/Hybriden Modellierung starke Vorteile mit sich bringt. Die Agentenbasierte Simulation findet speziell im HTA und der Gesundheitsökonomie Anwendung, z.B. in der AAA-Evaluierung, Kolonkarzinom-Modellierung und der Patientenpfade-Simulation bei psychischen Erkrankungen.

http://www.anylogic.com/

Das auf Ptolemy II basierende Building Controls Virtual Test Bed stellt ein Tool zur Loose Coupling Co-Simulation dar. Mit BCVTB können Simulatoren wie Dymola, EnergyPlus, MATLAB, Simulink, Simscape, Radiance u.v.a.m. gekoppelt werden. Die dwh GmbH setzte BCVTB bereits dafür ein, innerbetriebliche Optimierungsfelder von Produktionsbetrieben wie Fertigungsprozess, Werkzeugmaschine, Produktionssystem, Energiesystem und Gebäudehülle zu einer integralen dynamischen Gesamtsimulation zusammenzuführen.

https://simulationresearch.lbl.gov/bcvtb

Programmiersprache, die in der dwh GmbH für die Entwicklung komplexer Desktopapplikationen mit aufwendiger GUI eingesetzt wird.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/de-de/library/kx37x362.aspx

Strukturelle Aufbereitung und Analyse großer komplexer Datenmengen: die Programmiersprache C++ bietet mit ihrem Low-Level-Speichermanagement eine ideale Grundlage für die Bearbeitung großer Datenmengen mit vielen Rechenoperationen. In Kombination mit den von der Boost-Bibliothek bereitgestellten Datenstrukturen und Konzepten wie Graphen oder R-Trees können große Datenmengen sinnvoll durchsucht und abstrakt dargestellt werden.
Auch im Bereich der Bildverarbeitung mit OpenCV und überall dort wo hohe Leistungsfähigkeit oder Hardwarenähe benötigt wird, kommt C++ zum Einsatz.

http://www.cplusplus.com/http://www.boost.org/

High Performance GPU-beschleunigte 3D-Visualisierung. In der dwh GmbH verwendet zur Echtzeitsimulation und Visualisierung eines Pendelmodells auf der Raspberry Pi Plattform. Einlesen von Messdaten durch USB (Beschleunigungssensor) und Steuerung eines Elektromagneten (Auslöser) durch GPIO. Einbindung der GNU Scientific Library zur simultanen Lösung der nichtlinearen Differentialgleichung des erweiterten Pendelmodells.

Formalismus zur Beschreibung von hybriden Systemen (Discrete Event/kontinuierlich). Die dwh GmbH verwendet zur Simulation von mithilfe des DEV&DESS-Formalismus entwickelten Systemen die MatlabDEVS-Toolbox der HS Wismar.

Objektorientierte Modellbildung und Simulation von komplexen Maschinenmodellen, verwendet u. A. zur Energieoptimierung. Der Simulator Dymola basiert auf der Modellierungssprache Modelica.

https://modelica.org/http://www.3ds.com/products-services/catia/products/dymola

Entwicklung von Softwaretools zur agentenbasierten Simulation von Personenströmen, von dwh GmbH eingesetzt in der Krankenhausplanung oder Hörsaalbelegung von Universitäten. dwh GmbH hat auch ein agentenbasiertes Framework zur Epidemiesimulation in JAVA entwickelt, welches bereits zur Simulation diverser Krankheiten eingesetzt worden ist.

https://www.java.com/de/

Ähnlich stark ausgebaute und flexible Mathematik-Programmierumgebung wie MATLAB, jedoch im Gegensatz zum Numerik-fokussierten MATLAB algebraisch/symbolisch motiviert. Es ist somit in der dwh GmbH ein unersetzliches Tool zum Umformen komplexer Gleichungen/ algebraischer Strukturen, die im Lauf von Modellierungsprozessen auftreten.

http://www.maplesoft.com/products/Maple/

Graphischer Simulator zur Erstellung und Simulation von multiphysikalischen Modellen. MapleSim basiert wie Dymola auf dem Modelica-Standard. Algebraische Umformungen und numerische Algorithmen werden von der im Hintergrund laufenden Maple-Engine zur Verfügung gestellt.

http://www.maplesoft.com/products/Maplesim/

Vorwiegend verwendet für schnelles Prototyping von Simulationsmodellen bzw. Modellkonzepten. Geeignet für fast jede Modellierungsmethode (Differentialgleichungsmodelle, Differenzengleichungsmodelle, Agentenbasierte Simulationen, Zelluläre Automaten, Discrete-Event Modelle, ... ).

http://uk.mathworks.com/products/matlab/

Komplett auf agentenbasierte Simulation ausgerichtete Software, die für schnelles Prototyping von einfachen agentenbasierten Modellen oder zellulären Automaten eingesetzt wird.

https://ccl.northwestern.edu/netlogo/

Vielseitige Programmiersprache mit sehr breitem Anwendungsbereich in der dwh GmbH. Ideal zum schnellen Prototyping von aufwändigeren Programmen, Simulationsmodellen, graphischen Visualisierungen und Datenanalysen. Eine große Anzahl von frei zugänglichen Toolboxen steht zur Integration in Softwareprojekten bereit. Beispiele, die die Breite des Einsatzbereichs untermauern, sind Visualisierung und Rendern von geographischen Informationen und Karten, NLP (Natural Language Processing), Deep Convolutional Networks zur Bildklassifizierung, physikalische Mehrkörpersimulation und statistische und dynamische Analyse von Netzwerkstrukturen, Sampling von mehrdimensionalen Verteilungen. Überdies wird Python und im speziellen die Bibliotheken SimPy und Mesa zur agentenbasierten Simulation im Gesundheitsbereich für Populations- und Impfmodelle eingesetzt.

https://www.python.org/

Anwendungsnahe MATLAB-Erweiterungen, die aber genauso wie die Grundsoftware selbst vor allem im Forschungsbereich zum Einsatz kommen. Mit den ersten beiden werden vor allem physikalische, mechanische oder elektrotechnische Modelle entwickelt, letztere findet vor allem in der Logistik Anwendung.

http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simulink/http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simscape/http://uk.mathworks.com/products/simevents/

Zur Erstellung und Abfrage von Datenbanken (wie zum Beispiel PostreSQL, Oracle) wird SQL verwendet. Hierbei werden Daten aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen (Gesundheit, Politik, etc.) verwaltet, die dann in geeigneter aggregierter und verknüpfter Form abgefragt werden können, um anschließend visualisiert oder auch für die Parametrisierung von Simulationsmodellen weiterverarbeitet zu werden.

Standardsoftwaretool zur Umsetzung von Markovmodellen und Decision Trees in HTA- und gesundheitsökonomischen Fragestellungen. Primär verwendet in der technischen Realisierung von Screeningfragestellungen und Szenarienrechnung; speziell im Bereich des organisierten Mamma Screenings.

https://www.treeage.com/